

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PR-52-83(6-17-83)

FDIC SUSPENDS WITHDRAWAL PENALTIES FOR BANK DEPOSITORS VICTIMIZED BY FLOOD DISASTER IN THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

Regional Director David Meadows of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation today announced that the FDIC has granted victims in seven additional Mississippi counties temporary exemption from the interest rate regulations that penalize holders of time deposits for withdrawal of funds prior to maturity. This waiver is limited to depositors who have suffered losses in Issaquena, Sharkey, Lowndes, Claiborne, Yazoo, Leflore and Tallahatchie Counties which were declared major disaster areas by the President on June 16, 1983. Mr. Meadows previously announced suspension of early withdrawal penalties for victims in Hinds, Madison and Rankin Counties by News Release dated June 2, 1983; for victims in Warren County by News Release dated June 7, 1983; for victims in Holmes, Leake, and Washington Counties by News Release dated June 9, 1983; and for victims in Wilkinson and Jefferson Counties by News Release dated June 14, 1983.

Insured State-chartered banks that are not members of the Federal Reserve System, whether or not they are located in the immediate disaster areas, may allow depositors who can show that they have been damaged as a result of the disaster to withdraw all or part of their time deposits before maturity without paying any penalty. Depositors seeking to avail themselves of the suspension will be required to furnish their banks with proof of losses occasioned by this particular disaster.

(over)

This suspension is retroactive to June 16, 1983, and will be in effect for six months. This will provide eligible depositors sufficient time to determine their losses and their need for funds.

####