Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

October 10, 2018

Media contact: Julianne Fisher Breitbeil (202) 898-6895 jbreitbeil@fdic.gov

FDIC Announces New Members for the Advisory Committee on Community Banking

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) has announced the selection of seven new members for its Advisory Committee on Community Banking, which has been providing advice and recommendations to the FDIC on a broad range of community bank policy and regulatory matters since it was established in 2009. The Advisory Committee members represent a cross-section of community bankers from around the country.

"Community banks play a critically important role in the financial system and economy of the United States," said FDIC Chairman Jelena McWilliams. "We are fortunate to have such highly respected professionals who are willing to volunteer their time and talents to provide input on the issues most important to community banks. I look forward to working with the Advisory Committee members."

The Advisory Committee on Community Banking discusses and provides input to the FDIC on a wide variety of topics, including current examination policies and procedures, credit and lending practices, deposit insurance assessments, insurance coverage and regulatory compliance.

The new members of the Advisory Committee are:

- Fred DeBiasi, President & CEO, American Savings Bank, Middletown, Ohio
- Christopher Donnelly, President & CEO, Bank of the Prairie, Olathe, Kansas
- James J. Edwards, Jr., CEO, United Bank, Zebulon, Georgia
- Kenneth Kelly, Chairman & CEO, First Independence Bank, Detroit, Michigan
- Alan Shettlesworth, President & COO, Main Bank, Albuquerque, New Mexico
- Louise Walker, President & CEO, First Northern Bank, Dixon, California
- Len E. Williams, President & CEO, People's Utah Bancorp & CEO, People's Intermountain Bank, American Fork, Utah

The new members will join the following individuals already serving on the committee:

- Asif Dakri, Vice Chairman & CEO, Wallis State Bank, Houston, Texas
- Christopher W. Emmons, CEO, Gorham Savings Bank, Gorham, Maine
- David J. Hanrahan, Sr., President & CEO, Capital Bank of New Jersey, Vineland, New Jersey
- Jack A. Hartings, President & CEO, The Peoples Bank Co., Coldwater, Ohio

- Danny J. Kelly, President & CEO, The Hometown Bank of Alabama, Oneonta, Alabama
- Arvind A. Menon, President & CEO, Meadows Bank, Las Vegas, Nevada
- Tiffany Baer Paine, President & CEO, Security Bank USA, Bemidji, Minnesota
- Mary Ann Scully, Chairman & CEO, Howard Bank, Baltimore, Maryland
- Gwen M. Thompson, President & CEO, Clover Community Bank, Clover, South Carolina
- John M. Tolomer, President & CEO, The Westchester Bank, Yonkers, New York
- Joseph W. Turner, President & CEO, Great Southern Bank, Springfield, Missouri

For more information, please visit the Advisory Committee on Community Banking webpage at http://www.fdic.gov/communitybanking/

###



Congress created the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation in 1933 to restore public confidence in the nation's banking system. The FDIC insures deposits at the nation's banks and savings associations, 5,542 as of June 30, 2018. It promotes the safety and soundness of these institutions by identifying, monitoring and addressing risks to which they are exposed. The FDIC receives no federal tax dollars—insured financial institutions fund its operations.

FDIC press releases and other information are available on the Internet at www.fdic.gov, by subscription electronically (go to www.fdic.gov/about/subscriptions/index.html) and may also be obtained through the FDIC's Public Information Center (877-275-3342 or 703-562-2200). PR-73-2018

Stay connected to the FDIC

Twitter:

https://twitter.com/FDICgov Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FDICgov Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/company/fdic YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/FDICchannel