

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PR-117-84 (10-1-84)

FDIC SUSPENDS WITHDRAWAL PENALTIES FOR BANK DEPOSITORS VICTIMIZED BY SEVERE STORMS AND FLOODING IN THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO AND BY SNOW MELT RUN-OFF WHICH RESULTED IN FLOODING, MUDSLIDES, AND LANDSLIDES IN THE STATE OF COLORADO

Regional Director Roy E. Jackson of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation today announced that the FDIC has granted victims in Colorado and New Mexico temporary exemption from the interest rate regulations that penalize holders of time deposits for withdrawal of funds prior to maturity. The waiver is limited to depositors in Dolores, Hinsdale, Montrose, and Saguache Counties in Colorado; PR-95-84 (8-7-84) included Delta, Garfield, Gunnison, Mesa, Moffat, Ouray, Pitkin, Rio Blanco, Routt and San Miguel Counties and continues in force under this news release.

In the State of New Mexico, the waiver is limited to Eddy, Lincoln and Otero Counties.

Insured State-chartered banks that are not members of the Federal Reserve System, whether or not they are located in the immediate disaster areas, may allow depositors who can show that they have been damaged as a result of the disasters to withdraw all or part of their time deposits before maturity without paying a penalty. Depositors seeking to avail themselves of the suspension will be required to furnish their banks with proof of losses occasioned by these particular disasters.

This suspension is retroactive to July 27, 1984, for victims in the State of Colorado, and September 6, 1984, for victims in the State of New Mexico, and will be in effect for six months. This will provide eligible depositors sufficient time to determine their losses and the need for funds.

* * * * * * * * * * *