

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PR-93-84 (8-1-84)

FDIC SUSPENDS WITHDRAWAL PENALTIES FOR BANK DEPOSITORS VICTIMIZED BY SEVERE STORMS IN PORTIONS OF NEBRASKA

On July 6, 1984, Acting Regional Director Paul Rooney of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation announced that the FDIC has granted victims in certain named counties in Nebraska temporary exemption from the interest rate regulations that penalize holders of time deposits for withdrawal of funds prior to maturity. This waiver is hereby extended to include depositors who have suffered losses in Burt, Cass, Cedar, Colfax, Cuming, Dixon, Dodge, Hayes, Howard, Jefferson, Nemaha, Otoe, Saline, Stanton, Thayer, Thurston, Wayne, Washington, Douglas, Richardson, and Thayer Counties.

On July 10, 13, and 18, 1984, the Federal Emergency Management Agency amended the President's July 3, 1984 major disaster areas declaration to include these additional counties.

Insured State-chartered banks that are not members of the Federal Reserve System, whether or not they are located in the immediate disaster areas, may allow depositors who can show that they have been damaged as a result of the disaster to withdraw all or part of their time deposits before maturity without paying any penalty. Depositors seeking to avail themselves of the suspension will be required to furnish their banks with proof of losses occasioned by this particular disaster.

This suspension is retroactive to July 3, 1984, and will be in effect for six months. This will provide eligible depositors sufficient time to determine their losses and their need for funds.

#