

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PR-89-84 (7-25-84)

FDIC SUSPENDS WITHDRAWAL PENALITIES FOR BANK DEPOSITORS
VICTIMIZED BY SEVERE STORMS AND HEAVY RAINS IN PORTIONS OF SOUTH DAKOTA

Regional Director Milos Konjevich of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation today announced that the FDIC has granted victims in portions of South Dakota temporary exemption from the interest rate regulations that penalize holders of time deposits for withdrawal of funds prior to maturity. This waiver is limited to depositors who have suffered losses in Aurora, Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Clay, Hanson, Hutchinson, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Minor, Moody, Turner, Union and Yankton Counties which were declared major disaster areas by the President on July 19, 1984.

Insured State-chartered banks that are not members of the Federal Reserve System, whether or not they are located in the immediate disaster areas, may allow depositors who can show that they have been damaged as a result of the disaster to withdraw all or part of their time deposits before maturity without paying any penalty. Depositors seeking to avail themselves of the suspension will be required to furnish their banks with proof of losses occasioned by this particular disaster.

This suspension is retroactive to July 19, 1984, and will be in effect for six months. This will provide eligible depositors sufficient time to determine their losses and their need for funds.

######