

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PR 65(6-20-84)

**NEWS RELEASE** 

## FDIC SUSPENDS WITHDRAWAL PENALTIES FOR BANK DEPOSITORS VICTIMIZED BY FLOOD-RELATED DISASTERS IN KENTUCKY AND WEST VIRGINIA COUNTIES

Regional Director Jerald L. Adams of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation today announced that the FDIC has granted bank depositors who suffered flood-related losses temporary exemption from the interest rate regulations that penalize holders of time deposits for withdrawal of funds prior to maturity. This News Release is an Amendment to PR 53 issued 5-21-84.

This waiver is limited to those depositors in those West Virginia and Kentucky counties listed below who suffered losses as a result of severe storms and flooding on or about May 3, 1984 (West Virginia) and May 6, 1984 (Kentucky). These counties were declared major disaster areas by the President on May 15, 1984

<u>West Virginia</u>	Kentucky		
Logan	Adair	Johnson	Magoffin
McDowell	Bell	Knott	Marion
Mingo	Breathitt	Knox	Martin
Wayne	Casey	Laurel	Owsley
	Clay	Lawrence	Perry
	Estill	Lee	Pike
	Floyd	Leslie	Pulaski
	Green	Letcher	Taylor
	Harlan	Lincoln	Wayne Whitley

Insured State-chartered banks that are not members of the Federal Reserve System, whether or not they are located in the immediate disaster area, may allow depositors who can show that they have been damaged as a result of the disaster to withdraw all or part of their time deposits before maturity without paying any penalty. Depositors seeking to avail themselves of the suspension will be required to furnish their banks with proof of losses occasioned by this particular disaster.

This suspension will be in effect for six months. This will provide eligible depositors sufficient time to determine their losses and their need for funds.

#